Healing, Victory, Brokenness, Freedom, Happy, Soul, Love, God, Uncategorized

You can’t ask something BROKEN to be FIXED! 


The other day I was listening to a friend pour their heart out to me and they said, “You can’t ask something broken to be fixed!” That sentence hung in my mind like wet clothes drying themselves on a clothesline on a musty summer’s day. My mind rinsed that sentence over and over, as I begin to journey down my bumpy road of healing. I pondered over the number of years I tried to “fix” myself because I was severely broken. Molested, unfathered, abdonded, rejected, an abortioner, my life was infested with seeing abuse and being around substance abuse as a child. I was familiar with hardships and as I grew into adulthood it crippled my ability to function in a normal state of being. I was angry, depressed and broken. I desired to be fixed, but I didn’t know how. 

For some of you reading this you can relate. You’re in that broken state and perhaps even those around you are saying, “You need to fix ______ this! Why can’t you fix this _____” I’ll let you feel in the blank. And you’re looking at all life has handed you and like me you’re wondering how can something so broken ever be fixed. My friend was right, “You can’t ask something broken to be fixed!” But you can piece it back together, you can mend it and restore it back to life. 

If someone gave me a priceless vase, costing $25,000 I would want to protect that vase vehemently. I would place it somewhere that it could be seen but never touched. Perhaps my adventerous 5-year-old daughter starts throwing a ball to her rambunctious 11-year-old brother in the house, which they often do, and that ball hits my expensive gift, my vase, shattering it into to many shards of glass. I am devastated. I can’t even think to yell at my children, all I want to do is quickly pick up the pieces. I don’t want them to scatter too far or someone step on a piece grinding it further into dust. So I frantically gather the pieces hoping that somehow, someway, someone somewhere can restore it. 

That’s what happens with us, life tries to deliver us a death sentence. It slowly tries to eat away at our sanity and errod our peace with chaos, but you don’t have to be a victim to life. 

I love the cues that God has left us of how we are to respond to life’s situations, when you get a cut on your arm your body’s natural response is to heal and be restored back to its orginal state. You don’t have to ask your body to perform this miracle because inside your body it already has the capabilty to heal itself. Deeply embedded in the human DNA is resilency. There is a natural gift of healing that resides in every human soul. You no longer have to try to “fix” your broken pieces, simply gather the pieces and offer them to God so that the healing balm can be released on the inside of you to be restored. Just like the broken vase you may not look the same, but you are still in tact and you are still valuable. 

Standard

Leave a comment